It’s about gifts

Flying by the seat of my pants here. Just writing about gifts and how Writing Together is about gifts. How our words are gifts to ourselves and to each other. And how our written words aren’t just one more thing we need to find a place for in our houses of stuff. And how our time spent together writing and sharing our words could be one of the greatest gifts we can give and receive.

Last week, one of my writing groups wrote together on a prompt I gave and then we shared. Despite being a writing group, quite some time had passed since we wrote together. Our group has been together for almost six years and we all have families. So much happens with this wonderful group of women: births, moving houses, job changes, school, publications, and recently, devastatingly, the death of a child. When we meet, we catch up on our lives, give each other support, plan future retreats, talk chickens and our hopes.

I love all those things, but I was especially thrilled when we got out paper and pen and wrote quietly together. I could sense the energy of these amazing writing women putting down in words what they needed to in that moment. We talked about the experience and some of us shared what we wrote. I felt more deeply connected to this group then I had months.

Such gifts of time and words. I hope we will continue to carve out writing time at our meetings.

4 responses to “It’s about gifts

  1. What a lovely blog! And a great start for an exciting venture. I will be checking back regularly!

  2. Thanks so much, Lucinda! Great to have you here 🙂

  3. Love this blog, and I too loved the evening, what a great way for us to reconnect.

Leave a Reply

